Historic Preservation

M-NCPPC, Department of Parks and Recreation owns and operates a vast and unique collection of 180 historic properties. This includes two National Historic Landmarks (NHL) and 15 National Register of Historic Places (NR) properties, including the world’s oldest continuously operating airport (College Park Airport) and numerous historic sites that serve as museums and provide educational, recreational, and rental opportunities to residents and visitors.

The Historic Preservation Unit administers a multimillion-dollar budget and works closely with colleagues across the Department as well as external partners at the community, state, and national levels to preserve, conserve, and maintain these rare historic resources and cultural treasures in Prince George’s County.

Featured Project

Peace Cross

Built between 1919 and 1925, this 40-foot World War I memorial to Prince George’s County’s fallen servicemen was constructed of cast concrete with exposed pink granite aggregate. It is located on a 0.20-acre site at the three-way junction of Bladensburg Road, Baltimore Avenue, and Annapolis Road in Bladensburg, Maryland. In 2019, the US Supreme Court ruled in a landmark case that the memorial- known locally as the Peace Cross, could remain M-NCPPC property. With the support of the community, state and local officials, preservationists, and groups that supported the Commission through the legal process, we are now charged with the restoration of this nearly 100-year-old landmark. The project is ongoing and in November 2022 we will be celebrating the restoration and rededication of this important monument to the Great War.

Work on the Peace Cross began with the mobilization of the contractor, Worcester Eisenbrandt Inc. (WEI), and the highly visible installation of construction site fencing and scaffolding during the first week of February 2022. WEI, and their conservator Amy Hollis, have unique experience working on the creations of architect John J. Earley who designed and constructed the memorial. The project is now progressing with the selective demolition of unsound construction material, primarily at the top and on the north arm areas of concern in terms of loose material and moisture intrusion. WEI will continue with demolition around damaged areas to expose structural concrete. An engineer has visited the site to consult with the restoration team, and restoration work is continuing with demolition, investigation, and analysis of materials.

Projects in Progress At-a-Glance