Prince George's County Department of Parks and Recreation

Leadership

Director_Ronnie

Ronnie Gathers, Director

Department of Parks and Recreation

301-699-2556
Ronnie.Gathers@pgparks.com

The Department of Parks and Recreation is part of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission and administers Prince George's County's public recreation program and park system. The Office of the Director prioritizes and directs the Department's work program and resources.

 

Deputy Director Darin Conforti

Darin Conforti, Deputy Director

Administration and Development

301-699-2557
Darin.Conforti@pgparks.com

Administration and Development encompasses the three major support divisions: Administrative Services, Park Planning and Development, and Information Technology and Communications. In addition, Administration and Development includes the Department's human resources management.
Debbie

Debbie Tyner, Deputy Director

Area Operations

301-699-2580
Debbie.Tyner@pgparks.com

Area Operations encompasses Northern Area Operations, Central Area Operations, Southern Area Operations and the Special Programs Division.

 

Roslyn Johnson

Roslyn Johnson, Deputy Director

Facility Operations

301-699-2580
Roslyn.Johnson@pgparks.com

Facility Operations encompasses Maintenance and Development, Natural and Historical Resources, Sports Health and Wellness, Arts and Cultural Heritage, and Public Affairs and Marketing.

Wanda

Wanda Ramos, Division Chief

Central Area Operations

301-218-6700
Wanda.Ramos@pgparks.com

Central Area Operations coordinates, manages, and directs comprehensive parks and recreation programs for residents in the central area of Prince George's County.

Chris Robinson

Chris Robinson, Acting Division Chief

Northern Area Operations

301-445-4500
Chris.Robinson@pgparks.com

Northern Area Operations coordinates, manages, and directs comprehensive parks and recreation programs for residents in the northern area of Prince George's County.

Kelli

Kelli Beavers, Division Chief

Southern Area Operations

301-203-6001
Kelli.Beavers@pgparks.com

Southern Area Operations coordinates, manages, and directs comprehensive parks and recreation programs for residents in the southern area of Prince George's County.

Anthony

Anthony Nolan, Division Chief

Special Programs

301-446-3400
Anthony.Nolan@pgparks.com

Special Programs Division (SPD) provides child care, coordinates and implements countywide youth and senior programs, and provides therapeutic recreation opportunities for individuals with disabilities while promoting and facilitating the development of leisure skills and socialization.


Darlene Watkins, Acting Division Chief

Arts and Cultural Heritage

301-446-3240
Darlene.Watkins@pgparks.com

Arts and Cultural Heritage Division (ACHD) coordinates and manages three arts facilities, three designated arts spaces/long-term lease facilities, four historic rental properties, the Prince George's Equestrian Center and Show Place Arena, community arts services, and other programs serving county artists and residents.

Joe

Joe O'Neill, Division Chief

Maintenance and Development

301-780-2448
Joe.Oneill@pgparks.com

Maintenance and Development Division (M&D) provides major routine maintenance and repair of all Department of Parks and Recreation facilities and properties through five major work programs.

Greg

Greg Kernan, Division Chief

Natural and Historical Resources

301-627-2270
Greg.Kernan@pgparks.com

Natural and Historical Resources Division (NHRD) is comprised of major nature facilities and programs, and also maintains natural area parks. In addition, the division operates and interprets significant historic sites and museums, and offers year-round programming.

Emily

Emily Rose, Division Chief

Sports, Health and Wellness

301-446-6808
Emily.Rose@pgparks.com

Sports, Health & Wellness Division (SHWD) provides recreational sporting opportunities for people of all ages and skill levels. An array of competitive and non-competitive sports are offered through clinics, programs, leagues, tournaments and special events for youth and adults.

Bill

Bill Henaghan, Division Chief

Administrative Services

301-699-2440
Bill.Henaghan@pgparks.com

Administrative Services Division provides distinct Department-wide administrative, support and special project functions.

Joseph

Joseph Queen, Division Chief

Information Technology and Communications

301-454-1528
Joseph.Queen@pgparks.com

Information Technology and Communications Division (ITC) coordinates IT and Communication services for all divisions of the Department of Parks and Recreation.

Larry

Larry Quarrick, Division Chief

Park Planning and Development

301-699-2517
Larry.Quarrick@mncppc.org

Park Planning and Development Division (PPD)'s major functions are the preparation of the Capital Improvement Program (CIP), and the planning, design, engineering and construction management of those CIP projects. The division also performs regulatory functions of subdivision review, site plan review, and review of zoning applications.

Anita

Anita Pesses, Division Chief

Public Affairs and Marketing

301-446-3320
Anita.Pesses@pgparks.com

Public Affairs and Marketing Division (PAMD)'s work program promotes and markets parks and recreation facilities, programs and services; encourages public participation and involvement; manages partnership and volunteer programs; and informs Prince George's County residents and visitors about the Department of Parks and Recreation through various forms of communication.

Larry

Larry Brownlee, Chief

Park Police

301-429-5658
Larry.Brownlee@pgparks.com

The Park Police Division ensures the safety of park patrons and facilities 24 hours a day through crime prevention, apprehension, enforcement of criminal and motor vehicle laws, and enforcement of park rules and regulations.

Steve

Steven Carter, Acting Executive Director

Parks and Recreation Foundation

301-699-2420  
Steven.Carter@pgparks.com

The Parks and Recreation Foundation will help position the M-NCPPC, Department of Parks and Recreation to use less of its overall operating budget for projects, services, and programs due to donations from individuals, corporations and businesses.